Book Reviews

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

“Adrift after her sister Bailey’s sudden death, Lennie finds herself torn between quiet, seductive Toby—Bailey’s boyfriend who shares her grief—and Joe, the new boy in town who bursts with life and musical genius. Each offers Lennie something she desperately needs… though she knows if the two of them collide her whole world will explode.

Join Lennie on this heartbreaking and hilarious journey of profound sorrow and mad love, as she makes colossal mistakes and colossal discoveries, as she traipses through band rooms and forest bedrooms and ultimately right into your heart.

As much a celebration of love as a poignant portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often uproarious, and absolutely unforgettable.”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

I enjoyed this book, but I had some problems with it. I had a hard time getting into it. And I think it really is for younger teenagers, so that’s probably part of it. But I honestly thought that Lennie was a very selfish and annoying character. I hate to judge because grief is so different for everyone.

The decisions that Lennie made throughout the course of this book were very self destructive and that bothered me. She didn’t talk to anyone about her feelings and part of the thing about grief is that you’re so overwhelmed with that loss that it can destroy you from the inside. She hurts so many relationships throught the course of this book because she refuses to think about her actions.

I did enjoy this book thought because I understood her grief and how self destructive it can be. I can’t imagine losing my sister.  I think it is a good book for younger teenagers though.

I gave this a 3 out of 5 stars. I enjoyed it, but not as much as I thought I would. It is a very well written book and I think it is very unique. I would recommend it to probaly 14-16 personally. I enjoyed it and I think reading about the grieving process is so important.

Until Next Time,

Alex

P.S. I read this book with this cover and I hated it. So glad they changed it.

P.P.S I have another blog (onegirloneworld2017.wordpress.com) I would love if you would check it out!

Leave a Reply

