Alex Posts · Book Reviews · Uncategorized

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

“In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

Hey guys! So I meant to post this review last week, but I was on vacation so I didn’t get around to it. So get ready for a little overload of posts this weekend (and on to next week)

So, I finished this book last Thursday and I was very happy about it. The entire book was so good and captivating and it felt so good to read. Until about 100 pages left in the book….. Then it just felt like it wasn’t needed. I mean it made sense with the ending of the book. I just wish it easier to get to the conclusion.

ALSO that ending though. Like, Victoria excuse me who gave you the right??? Just when I thought my OTP was gonna work out you throw that in there. They better work out in the next book. Wait, there is a next book, right? Cause it can’t end like that.

Anyways, I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars. It was really engaging, but I can’t get over those last 100 or so pages. I recommend this to anyone who likes fantasy/ dystopian whatever this book is categorized as. It does have some mature stuff in it, just not like overly mature if that makes any sense (does it?) So I recommend it to like 14 and up.

Until Next Time,

Alex

 

Leave a Reply

