Alex Posts · Book Reviews

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson

“Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

So I read this book over the week and I really enjoyed it. It was a collection of different stories about Magnus throughout his life as a warlock. We get a look at some of his past romances that are mentioned in TMI.  We see his friendships grow and watch Magnus save the world all by himself. We also get to see what happens with him and Alec’s first date and Alec’s first birthday where they are together. Meaning there are so many Malec feels.

I loved these stories because Magnus is so sassy and precious. Like if I had a friend like Magnus I would be so happy. Like he is the perfect gay friend even though he’s not actually gay.

I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars. I really enjoyed it, but it just wasn’t the most amazing thing ever. But still read it because Magnus is amazing. I recommend it to anyone who likes TMI and TID. I recommend this to middle schoolers because there is no bad language or mature scenes.  Seriously, read it.

Until Next Time,

Alex

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson

  1. I tried reading The Mortal Instruments books, but found I couldn’t get into the plot, etc, and the only thing I liked were the characters. Magnus, obviously, was one of them, and his story is one I wouldn’t mind getting into—more so if it’s told in short stories, like snippets. He’s probably got a lot to tell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s