Alex Posts · Book Reviews

Another Day by David Levithan

“Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person…wasn’t Justin at all.

In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

So I read the first book Everyday sometime last year (I think) and I enjoyed it. But for whatever reason this one hit me a little harder. It was in Rhiannon’s point of view so you got to see what she was thinking and feeling. The point of views were so different compared to each other. I connected with Rhiannon as a character much more than I did with A in Everyday. Rhiannon was in a very toxic relationship before A came into her life. She loved Justin and was doing everything to keep him happy when a lot of the time he took what she was doing for granted. And personally that really got to me. I have been in a very toxic relationship before and I know how it feels. Seeing how Rhiannon stands up for herself and moves on from such a toxic relationship. It was beautiful and it reminded me how much I am grateful to not be in that situation anymore.

Anyways, I gave this book a 5 out of 5 stars, but mostly because of me and how it really spoke to me. I would recommend this to anyone in high school. I think that it is a little mature, but I think those books are so good for high schoolers and finding things out about themselves.

Until Next Time

Alex

Leave a Reply

