Book Reviews

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

So I honestly didn’t know what to expect with this book. I knew it was different and intended for a younger audience. I had no knowledge of Norse mythology and I still don’t really. But something that Rick Riordan has such an amazing talent for is not only writing but world building. The Nine Worlds that are in this book are so intricate. Norse mythology is so difficult to understand in my opinion because there is so much to it.

I also didn’t want to abandon his Greek and Roman books and meet all new characters. But Magnus and his buddies brought the humor every Rick Riordan book always has. I loved the new characters and warmed up to them. His books always make me so happy even when I’m not sure about them.

I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars because it wasn’t amazing, but it was still good. I really enjoyed it. I recommend this book to middle grade and older. I think anyone can read him because he appeals to a lot of different ages. Anyway, I’m reading Hammer of Thor the second book in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series so hopefully the review on that will be up this weekend.

Until Next Time,

Alex

Leave a Reply

