Alex Posts · Book Reviews

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

“For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

I honestly didn’t know what I was expecting from this book. JLA is my favorite author so I knew it was going to be good. This is very different from what she’s written which I think is great. I actually have a lot of more deep thoughts on this book, so I’m going to do that later and get the more superficial things out of the way.

Okay she introduced a new book boyfriend and I love him. His name is Rider Stark and he starts out being a mystery, but we find out more about him and you just kind of fall in love with him how Mallory does. He’s literally boyfriend goals and I’m so jealous of Mallory that she gets such an amazing guy. Some of the things he does for her in this book melted my heart and I hope to have someone like that in my life.

Okay,now onto the review/ serious stuff. I really loved Mallory because she had dealt with so many things in her life, but she ultimately had the courage to move on from her past. She had the courage to fix herself just like every girl in JLA’s books, but in this case she started to change before Rider walked into her life. And she had to help Rider change.

This book spoke to me on a lot of different levels. Mallory was previously in foster care and while I can’t relate to that, I can relate to her being shy, socially anxious, and having pretty serious anxiety. Recently, I have had bad anxiety and I have had always had social anxiety. I’ve always been shy too, not to her level though. If she can get through something so bad, then so can  I.

She had some hard experiences with her boyfriend that I can relate to in some ways. As much as you want to fix a guy, they have to be the ones to fix themselves. They have to make that decision. I have had boyfriends that wanted me to fix them, but they didn’t want to be fixed. They couldn’t make that decision for themselves so they had to go. And in my case, they didn’t really care enough to make that decision for themselves and me. They didn’t care about me in the way they made it seem like.

I gave this book a 5 out of 5 stars because it just really got to me and always had me guessing. I think it was a great story and it’s so important. I recommend this to high schoolers because it has some mature content and some possible triggers including abuse, death, and anxiety. I really encourage you to read it because it is beautiful. Also, the cover is gorgeous!

Until Next Time,

Alex

Leave a Reply

