Alex Posts · Book Reviews

Unthinkable by Nancy Werlin

This much anticipated sequel to the New York Times BestsellerImpossible a fantasy full of suspense, mystery, and romance will appeal to fans of Beautiful Creatures, Raven Boys, and Wicked Lovely.

Fenella was the first Scarborough girl to be cursed, hundreds of years ago, and she has been trapped in the faerie realm ever since, forced to watch generations of daughters try to break this same faerie curse that has enslaved them all. But now Fenella’s descendant, Lucy, has accomplished the impossible and broken the curse, so why is Fenella still trapped in Faerie?

In her desperation, Fenella makes a deal with the faerie queen: If she can accomplish three acts of destruction, she will be free, at last, to die.  What she doesn’t realize is that these acts must be aimed at her own family and if she fails, the consequences will be dire, for all of the Scarborough girls.

How can she possibly choose to hurt her own cherished family not to mention the new man whom she’s surprised to find herself falling in love with? But if she doesn’t go through with the tasks, how will she manage to save her dear ones?”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

This book is about the girl that started the Scarborough girl curse. She wants to die, but to die she first has to put in place three acts of destruction to destroy her family. She goes to the mortal realm and has many problems with trying to destroy her family. She succeeds, but her decision in the end isn’t what she expected.

I liked this book, but I read Impossible so long ago that I think I just grew out of it. I would’ve loved this book when I was in middle school, but I think that I just got to be too old. I’ve read books like that more recently while trying to finish series I started in the past, but I just haven’t. I was like that with the Maze Runner Series. I liked the plot and the characters, but I think the writing style was just a little childish for me.

I would recommend this book to middle school kids. I  just think younger teenagers will like this. I give this book a 3 out of 5 stars just because the book was a little childish for me.

Until Next Time

Love,

Alex

Leave a Reply

