Alex Posts · Book Reviews

Cinder by Marissa Meyers

“Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

I’ve been meaning to write this review for awhile but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I finished this book last week and I am now reading the sequel Scarlet. I’m hoping to finish that within the next few days.

This book started out really slow for me, but I really enjoyed it. Cinder is a very heroic character. While the story is a loose retelling of Cinderella, they could not be more different. Cinder is heroic enough to warn Prince Kai. She is beautiful and just so courageous. She is smart, she’s got an attitude and is  more of an inspiration than the original Disney Cinderella because not only does she have to deal with an evil stepmom and two evil stepsisters, but she also is a cyborg. She is treated bad, but is also very kind just like Disney Cinderella.

I would give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. It was very good once you actually got into it. I would recommend this series to middle school kids just because it doesn’t have mature content and is short.

Until Next Time

-Alex

Alex Posts · Excerpts

Excerpt #6

Hey guys so this is just a little random excerpt. So sorry I haven’t been online in awhile. I was on a mission trip and in a little book slump. I’m reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer so a review should be up on that next week. I wrote this awhile ago and just wanted to share it. Love you guys and hope everyone is doing well!

_________________________________________________________________

 

Why do I keep getting my hopes up? I mean honestly they always come crashing down. I keep thinking that maybe one day I’ll get lucky, but I never do. Okay, in some cases I have, but in most I haven’t. Like for instance I keep thinking maybe the guy I like will be happy seeing me when he can. And he is. But it’s like I get my hopes up on our plans knowing that they’ll just come crashing down. And they did.  It’s not like I should be surprised, this stuff happens all the time. I just thought that maybe I would get lucky this time. Nothing wrong with thinking that, right? But getting your hopes up to watch them crash down in your face… well that hurts. I actually believed him when he said that we would make time to see each other this summer. But between his work, my life at home, and just his life it was almost impossible. What I wouldn’t give to be able to kiss him again. Or just even see his smile. And it’s funny he thought we could make something work while he was at school 4 hours away. Yeah, right! We live 10 minutes from each other and we can’t even make time to see each other now. Stupid, stupid, stupid. Oh well. Just pick myself up and forget, like always.

 

 

-Alex

Alex Posts

6 Month Wrap Up

I wanted to do something really different and since today is July 1st, I decided to do a 6 month wrap up of the books I have read so far.

January:

Oblivion (The E-Book so I was finishing the Opal part.) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Friendzoning Harry Styles (fanfiction on wattpad) by krystal_payne

Gasp by Lisa Mcmann

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Enders by Lissa Price

Prodigy by Marie Lu

Champion by Marie Lu

Nantucket Red by Leila Howland

February:

Nantucket Red by Leila Howland

The Rules for Breaking by Ashley Elston

Between the Spark and the Burn by April Genevieve Tucholke

Keeping Up With The Fangirls (fanfic on wattpad) by ginawriter

Unite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Of Triton by Anna Banks

Of Neptune by Anna Banks

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

March:

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Unwholly by Neal Schusterman

Candide by Voltaire (for school)

Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake

Unsouled by Neal Schusterman

Undivided by Neal Schusterman

Unchained by Jennifer L. Armentrout

April:

Unchained by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Dead List by Jennifer L. Armentrout (wattpad)

Devoted by Hilary Duff

True by Hilary Duff

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (for school)

The Power by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Scorch Trials by James Dashner

Death Cure by James Dashner

After by Anna Todd (fanfic on watttpad imaginator1D)

The Darkness Within (fanfic) by Kurinoone (didn’t finish)

After 2 by Anna Todd (also fanfic on wattpad)

May:

Death Cure by James Dashner

Kill Order by James Dashner (didn’t finish)

Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

After 2 by Anna Todd (also fanfic on wattpad)

1984 by George Orwell (for school, didn’t finish)

After 3 by Anna Todd (fanfic on wattpad)

Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Glass by Ellen Hopkins

Tricks by Ellen Hopkins

Fallout by Ellen Hopkins

Perfect by Ellen Hopkins

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

After You by Jojo Moyes

June:

After You by Jojo Moyes

Fallen In Love by Lauren Kate

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Bitter Sweet Love by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Proposal by Jennifer L. Armentrout

All In by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Life Before Legend by Marie Lu (still reading)

Unthinkable by Nancy Werlin

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (currently reading)

 

That’s what I’ve read so far this year. I’m hoping to read much more the rest of the year. Much love to everyone.

Until Next Time,

Alex.

Alex Posts

25 Bookish Facts About Me

I wanted to do something different so here I am. Here are 25 bookish facts about me. I’ve seen booktubers do this so I wanted to try it too. That way you can get to know me too.

  1. I get most of my books from the library
  2. My favorite author is Jennifer L. Armentrout
  3. I also really love Cassandra Clare and J.K. Rowling
  4. I still don’t get they hype surrounding the Maze Runner Series
  5. I stopped liking the Divergent trilogy.
  6. Rick Riordan is my favorite childhood author.
  7. I only buy books if I’ve read it and liked it or if it’s by JLA, Cassie Clare, or if I’ve heard a lot about it.
  8. My favorite booktuber is abookutopia so you should check her out.
  9. Fantasy and Romance are my two favorite genres.
  10. I’m trying to read 100 books this year.
  11. I’ve wanted to start a blog for awhile, but Tay finally helped me make the decision.
  12. Tay is my first and only friend that appreciates books as much as I do.
  13. Tay got me into making edits. (@beauty.andthe.books)
  14. I want to go to college at University of Nebraska Lincoln because of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.
  15. I want my future boyfriend to appreciate my blog, edits, and reading, but he doesn’t have to be a fanboy. Not that I don’t love fanboys.
  16. I love talking to people about books. So DM me on Instagram. My edit account is up above.
  17. My dad inspired me to be a writer and a reader and he is the reason I’m continuing that.
  18. I’m probably going to dedicate my first book to my dad since he is my inspiration.
  19. Tay and I are writing a book together.
  20. I would love to be a full time author, but I also want to go into publishing.
  21. The guy I like right now likes that I’m a bookworm.
  22. I like reading on rainy days and at night.
  23. I tend to binge read a lot.
  24. I’m currently reading Pride and Prejudice.
  25. The Bookstagram community has made me realize I’m not alone and helps me connect with other people.

Thank you so much for reading! If you are the same in anyway, comment. Comment some of your bookish facts!

Until Next Time

Love,

Alex.

Alex Posts · Book Reviews

Unthinkable by Nancy Werlin

This much anticipated sequel to the New York Times BestsellerImpossible a fantasy full of suspense, mystery, and romance will appeal to fans of Beautiful Creatures, Raven Boys, and Wicked Lovely.

Fenella was the first Scarborough girl to be cursed, hundreds of years ago, and she has been trapped in the faerie realm ever since, forced to watch generations of daughters try to break this same faerie curse that has enslaved them all. But now Fenella’s descendant, Lucy, has accomplished the impossible and broken the curse, so why is Fenella still trapped in Faerie?

In her desperation, Fenella makes a deal with the faerie queen: If she can accomplish three acts of destruction, she will be free, at last, to die.  What she doesn’t realize is that these acts must be aimed at her own family and if she fails, the consequences will be dire, for all of the Scarborough girls.

How can she possibly choose to hurt her own cherished family not to mention the new man whom she’s surprised to find herself falling in love with? But if she doesn’t go through with the tasks, how will she manage to save her dear ones?”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

This book is about the girl that started the Scarborough girl curse. She wants to die, but to die she first has to put in place three acts of destruction to destroy her family. She goes to the mortal realm and has many problems with trying to destroy her family. She succeeds, but her decision in the end isn’t what she expected.

I liked this book, but I read Impossible so long ago that I think I just grew out of it. I would’ve loved this book when I was in middle school, but I think that I just got to be too old. I’ve read books like that more recently while trying to finish series I started in the past, but I just haven’t. I was like that with the Maze Runner Series. I liked the plot and the characters, but I think the writing style was just a little childish for me.

I would recommend this book to middle school kids. I  just think younger teenagers will like this. I give this book a 3 out of 5 stars just because the book was a little childish for me.

Until Next Time

Love,

Alex