Book Reviews

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

“Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.”

~Synopsis from Goodreads

So I wasn’t sure if I was going to do a review of this since Tay did not very long ago, but I know we both have different opinions on this. For Tay this was her IT book. This book changed her. And I loved this book as well and it got me into a book hangover which sucks.

Tay sobbed when she finished this, and I’ll be honest I didn’t. I loved it and thought it was heartbreakingly beautiful. It made me get tears in my eyes. It did break my heart, but it wasn’t a book that changed me.

I thought the story was beautiful and the characters made me laugh, smile, angry, and sad. Just the way a great book should. I can see how it would make people cry, I honestly was expecting it. It might’ve been because of the fact I was talking to someone while I was finishing it. Maybe we just don’t feel affected by a book in the same way and that’s okay.

I think the story behind this book is wonderful and sad. It’s also very eye opening. I would rate this book 10 out of 10. I suggest this to readers 16 and up since it does have some mature content in it. This is a book that makes you think and feel, and that’s something very hard to come by.

-Alex

Leave a Reply

