Alex Posts · Book Reviews

Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman

“Connor, Risa, and Lev are running for their lives.

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state, is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.”

-Synopsis from Gooodreads

So I just finished Undivided by Neal Shusterman today. And I loved this series so much, I was freaking out all day in my classes because it was just that good. I read the first book about a year ago. And I just picked up the series again a few weeks ago because recently I wanted to finish all the series I haven’t finished which turned out to be a lot. So I picked it back up and I honestly couldn’t remember much about the series. But I loved Unwholly and then I loved Unsouled. So I knew I was going to love Undivided. I did.

But like with all the books it took me forever to get into, but once I did I devoured it.

The story talks about a dystopian society that has something called unwinding where “feral” teenagers are sent to harvest camps to be unwound meaning they get their parts taken and are sold to rich people with problems. The series focuses on teenagers that escaped the unwinding and are now called AWOL’s.

I give this story 4.5 stars because of the fact that it took so long to get into. I recommend this book to middle school age students because it doesn’t have sexual content, but it deals with pretty heavy content. Thanks for reading and I hope you liked this book review!

Love,

Alex

 

Leave a Reply

